Chill with a Book Awards for Independent Authors

Thursday, 16 September 2021

Under a Gravid Sky by Angela MacRae Shanks


Under a Gravid Sky

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

This book is shortlisted for Book of the Month.

In a ravaged land, how can two wounded souls find love?

The north-eastern Highlands, 1747. In the weeks following Culloden, a victorious Hanoverian army rampages through the glens, committing atrocities, intent on crushing the rebellious Highland clans. In occupied Strathavon, persecuted families struggle under repressive new laws and rent rises. Five-year-old Rowena loses her mother, while Duncan witnesses the brutal events that make him an orphan.

A sensitive child told she must harden herself, Rowena turns to Morna, the green woman, who takes her on a journey of discovery into the magic of the natural world, passing on her healing skills. But as she blossoms into a woman, Rowena catches the eye of Hugh McBeath, a ruthless exciseman sent to extinguish the scourge of whisky smuggling from the Duke of Gordon’s lands. Beguiled, McBeath believes her a witch. Nevertheless, he must have her for his wife.

Smuggling illicit whisky has long been a tradition in Strathavon; the fiery spirit brings coin for paying rents. Now smuggling is deemed a traitorous act that helped fund the Jacobite Rising. Duncan is the best smuggler the glen has ever seen, but having hidden while his family burned, how can he ever be worthy of tender-hearted Rowena?

Rich with the language and lore of the Highlands, Under A Gravid Sky is a powerful portrayal of a land and people in turmoil. First in The Strathavon Saga, this is a prequel to The Blood And The Barley.

Pages: 306
 Genre:   Christian Historical Fiction

Under a Gravid Sky
  was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?


Friday, 10 September 2021

Discovery at Rosehill by Kathryn Brown



Discovery at Rosehill

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Finding your dream home is difficult enough, but what if you found it and then discovered it was haunted? Medium Camilla Armstrong is led to the beautiful Rosehill country estate after communication with her deceased grandmother. On first inspection she senses tranquillity within the house; the gentle atmosphere of a Georgian manor that is crying out for new life. But when she moves in, Camilla discovers the house contains a dark secret, one which is to change her life forever.

Download the sequel to this book - "Secrets at Rosehill" on Kindle

Pages: 262
Genre:  Historical Fiction (Kindle Store)

  
Discovery at Rosehill  was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...


Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?














Friday, 13 August 2021

Workhouse Waif by Elizabeth Keysian



Workhouse Waif

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

This book is shortlisted for Book of the Month.

How can Bella Hart escape the hell of the Victorian workhouse?
Fleeing the abuse that she suffered there, the lonely outcast hopes her new life in a factory town can provide the esteem and affection she craves. Torn between the worlds of masters and workers, Bella falls for the enigmatic Jack, but their relationship shatters when his true identity is revealed. In a desperate bid to revive her love, Jack unearths Bella's past, with tragic consequences.
After a devastating fire, a secret emerges that seals Bella's fate, and that of everyone and everything she holds dear.
Fans of Catherine Cookson and Victorian historical romances will love this book.

Pages: 358
 Genre:   Victorian Historical Romance 

Workhouse Waif
  was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?


Tuesday, 10 August 2021

The Rift Between Us by Rebecca L Marsh



The Rift Between Us

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Can two weeks change everything?
After a family dinner turns into a bitter fight, sisters Maria, Lauren, and Avery decide to go their separate ways. Their father warns them that someday they will need one another. When he dies suddenly, they learn that he intends to make sure that they do. He’s left them a substantial inheritance, far more than any of them ever imagined.

There’s just one catch. If they want the money, they will have to spend two weeks together at a secluded lake house and follow all of their father’s instructions—no matter how strange.

Their task seems simple enough, but each one is holding onto painful secrets and old grudges the others know nothing about. But if they can learn to trust each other again, they might be able to mend the rift between them and give their father his dying wish.

The Rift Between Us is an emotional family drama about broken relationships and the ties that bind.


Pages: 362
Genre:  Christian Romantic Fiction 

  
The Rift Between Us was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...


Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?














Saturday, 31 July 2021

Book Cover of the MONTH - July



Book Cover of the Month
HUGE thanks to  Designer, Cathy Helms at Avalon Graphics for selecting this month's cover of the Month.


All books receiving a Chill with a Readers' Award in August will automatically be considered for Book Cover of the Month.




Monday, 26 July 2021

Let Sleeping Murder Lie by Carmen Radtke


Let Sleeping Murder Lie

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Love can be the death of you ...

American Eve Holdsworth is living her quintessential English dream in a picturesque village in the countryside. Meeting an attractive stranger adds to the appeal.

But Ben Dryden is a pariah in Eve’s new neighbourhood, since his wife was murdered five
years ago, and he was the only suspect. Eve, who is absolutely sure someone as charming as Ben could never be a killer, is determined to solve the case and clear Ben’s name, even if it’s against his will.

Soon enough Eve finds herself in deep waters, and with her life at stake, she can only pray that her romantic notions won’t be the end of her …


Pages:  290
Genre:  Cosy Animal Mystery 

  
Let Sleeping Murder Lie was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...


Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?













Wednesday, 21 July 2021

What time is it There? by Glenice Whitting


What time is it There?

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Diane, a young Australian mother meets Maggie, an older, sophisticated American poet, in a chance encounter. Everything -- age, class and even nationality -- separates them. Unknown to Diane, Maggie is grieving for her eldest daughter and trapped in a marriage involving infidelity and rape. Diane yearns for the same life altering opportunities given to her brother.

This is a story of two unfulfilled women finding each other when they needed it most. Their pen-friendship will change them forever.


Pages:  203
Genre:   Women's Contemporary Fiction


  
What time is it There? was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...


Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?














Friday, 16 July 2021

Where Irises Never Grow by Paulette Mahurin



Where Irises Never Grow

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


With courage, depth, and passionate insight, bestselling author Paulette Mahurin captures the horrors of the German occupation of France. Where Irises Never Grow tells the story of how one book that escaped Nazi confiscation moved through time holding a cryptic note. Unraveling its mystery brings the reader to Lyon, France. It is there war, in all its bloodstained pathos, is witnessed through the escalating cruelty of the Vichy regime. Particularly impacted is the Legrand family. Thrown into a whirlwind of turmoil they struggle to help the Resistance while maintaining deceitful relations with the government. As the Nazis move toward occupying southern France, the duplicity unravels along with all the Legrands are protecting. Their struggle is raw. Uplifting. Nothing is held back in depicting the horrors inflicted on innocent people by the corrupt tyrannical despots. But this is more than a story of war. It is a story of friendship and loyalty. Of love and sacrifices. And choices for ultimately it is a story that shines a light on the fundamental urge by decent human beings to do right by another, to stand tall no matter the risk when millions stood silent. Where Irises Never Grow will linger in the readers gut and mind long after the last page is finished.

Pages:  311
Genre:  Jewish Literature 
  
Where Irises Never Grow was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...


Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?