Chill with a Book Awards for Indie Authors

Thursday, 25 August 2016

Broken Faces by Deborah Carr


Four years. Four lives changed forever.

‘As the weight of the plaster of Paris slowly increased on his face, he tried to steady his breathing and not give in to claustrophobia.’

November 1914
When Freddie Chevalier’s best friend, Charles, joins the cavalry and sets off to fight in the Great War he can’t help feeling he’s missing out. Until the war Freddie enjoyed his bucolic existence working on his parent’s farm on the island of Jersey, but now he yearns for excitement.

He’s always harboured a secret passion for Charles’ fiancée, Meri. She’s 'The Girl'. The one he loves but can’t have. Nothing compares to the guilt he feels when he and Meri betray Charles in the worst possible way.

Each will discover that they don't know the others as well as they thought. All of them will be forced to take charge of their lives and find ways to live with the consequences of the choices that they and their friends have made. And by November 1918 everything they thought of as familiar will have vanished.

Praise for Broken Faces:

'One to Watch.' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING MAGAZINE

‘Spent most of my weekend quite mesmerised by this lovely book.’ Welsh Annie Top 500 Reviewer Vine Voice

‘Fans of Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will enjoy.’ Bookmad 

‘A spectacularly powerful book.’ J B Johnston, Brook Cottage Books

‘Beautifully written, meticulously researched, this author is destined to make her mark in the literary world.’ Mr Alan Jackson

‘A poignant story of love, devotion and devastation.’ Pauline


‘Moving and believable.’ Karen Clarke, author of Put A Spell On You

Available in e-book and paperback:

Twitter: @DebsCarr


1 comment:

  1. Thanks very my much for featuring Broken Faces on this fabulous site today!

    ReplyDelete