Saturday, 6 August 2022

3 Sisters 3 Weeks 3 Countries by Elizabeth Moore Kraus



3 Sisters 3 Weeks 3 Countries
by
Elizabeth Moore Kraus

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

This book is shortlisted for Book of the Month.

Join the three Moore sisters as they blithely venture off on their first-ever trip together, traveling in Ireland, England, and Scotland. All in their mid-60s and feeling confident in themselves and their relationship, they embark with visions of fun on their horizon. But all too quickly reality sets in. An unforgettable memoir of a journey filled with ups, downs, and everything in between, this is a must-read book filled with laughter and life lessons.

"Why would sisters want to take such a long trip together?" The Moore sisters were often asked this question, to which came their same, unwavering reply: "Why not?"

It all started when one sister gave a siren call for travel to her two sisters. In response, they started packing; almost that fast. As their journey unfolds, it reveals many things, including how after a fifty-some year break of sharing a childhood room they must adapt to living with each other once again; how hard can this be? Well, it's only a matter of time, though in ever small increments, before they begin sliding sideways. So how do these Golden Girl-ish Moore sisters handle 'sideways,' and so far from home?

You don't have to be a sister to read this book. Readers will be pulled in by the emotional range these sisters experience, including love, frustration, laughter, and angst. Before you know it, you will find yourself rooting for the Moore sisters as they find their way through the sister quagmire.


Pages:  288
Genre:  Memoirs


3 Sisters 3 Weeks 3 Countries
  was read and evaluated by THREE Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?



Friday, 5 August 2022

Outcast by Claire Voet



Outcast
by
Claire Voet

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

This book is shortlisted for Book of the Month.

Outcast - An inspirational, spellbinding story, keeping you hooked to the very end!
In 1945 Molly Hazleton is heart broken when her fiancé doesn’t return from the war after being reported “missing in action.” So when Aunt Daphne comes to visit with news of having bought a 17th century manor house at auction in Scotland, Molly welcomes the opportunity to start afresh and help her aunt turn Aberdoch Manor into a hotel.

With a strange sense of déjà vu, Molly struggles to understand her connection with the property having never stepped foot inside of it or even Scotland for that matter. Ross McDaniel, the newly appointed gardener, knows more than he is letting on. And when he shows Molly an ancient yew tree named by the locals as the Ghost Tree, after touching it, Molly discovers a remarkable ability to vividly see and experience her own past life - a life of extreme danger and hardship on the road with the Jacobite in 1745, hunted by the Red Coats for crimes she hasn’t committed. She is also in love with a brave, Scot warrior, leader of the McDaniel clan who soon becomes her husband.

Stirring up forgotten memories and an uncontrollable yearning to be back with those she once loved, Molly is hopelessly torn between very different worlds, two hundred years apart!


Pages:  287
Genre:  Historical Fantasy Fiction


Outcast
  was read and evaluated by THREE Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?



Thursday, 4 August 2022

Secrets of Rosenli Manor by Heidi Eljarbo



Secrets of Rosenli Manor
by
Heidi Eljarbo

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award



Betrayal and trust go hand in hand in the first book of Heidi Eljarbo’s new turn-of-the-century series.

It’s 1898, and Lilly has spent most of her life motherless and living with a father who never looks for a silver lining. When her great-aunt Agatha passes, Lilly’s existence takes a drastic turn. She packs her few belongings and moves into the old lady’s magnificent estate, Rosenli Manor.

In the days that follow, Lilly tries to understand who Agatha really was, and hidden secrets slowly rise to the surface. Her great-aunt’s glamorous legacy is not quite what Lilly had imagined. She must trust in newly forged friendships, and to her surprise, she discovers what it means to truly fall in love. But not everyone is happy about the new mistress of Rosenli.

Intrigue, mystery, and a touch of romance in the Norwegian countryside fill the pages of Secrets of Rosenli Manor. Fans of Rhys Bowen, Julie Klassen, Kathleen McGurl, Kate Morton, and Lucinda Riley will be delighted with this new novel.

Pages:  179
Genre:   Christian Historical Fiction 

  
Secrets of Rosenli Manor was read and evaluated by THREE Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?















Monday, 1 August 2022

Book of the MONTH - July

Book of the Month

July




"One of the perils of being a sniper during the First World War was the likelihood of a grenade going off right next to you and burying you alive”.

Meet Jack Rogers. Born in 1894, he once locked eyes with Queen Victoria and was one of the first travellers on London’s ‘Tube’. An early car owner, he had many escapades on his days out to Brighton, including a time when his brakes failed and he had to drive through central London without them!

His skills as an entertainer earned him popularity throughout his life, and kept him out of the deadly mines while a prisoner during the First World War. At the tender age of 103 Jack earned the title of ‘The World’s Oldest Columnist’ as he began dictating his life’s exploits to a reporter from the local newspaper.

Pages:  226
Genre:   Biographies of World War I








Book Cover of the MONTH - July



Book Cover of the Month

HUGE thanks to  Designer, Cathy Helms at Avalon Graphics for selecting this month's cover of the Month.



All books receiving a Chill with a Readers' Award in July will automatically be considered for Book Cover of the Month.




Thursday, 28 July 2022

Podcast - Chill Award Winning Author - Michael Reidy

 

Michael was brought up in New England, USA and has spent many decades living in England. His career has been varied and extremely interesting, from serving in the USA marines, to teaching English in the USA and UK before moving into the PR & marketing sector. To add to this impressive list, Michael is also an award-winning author with 18 books published. Please sit back and welcome my wonderful guest.

http://www.pmichaelreidy.com/

You can listen to ALL podcast at

https://paulinebarclay.podbean.com









Podcast - Chill Award Winning Author Phill Featherstone

 

Phill is an award winning fiction author and also, with his wife, Sally, formed a successful publishing company that was later purchased by one of the top international publishing companies.





You can listen to all podcasts at





Podcast - Chill Award Winning Author - Barbara Gaskell Denvil


Meet Chill award winning author Barbara Gaskell - Denvil  talking about her award winning books,.





You can find all Barbara's books on 
Amazon 
in Kindle and paperback

Podcast - Chill Award Winning Author - Giulia Skye

 

Meet Chill award winning author Giulia Skye. Giulia is talking about her award winning books,.


 


Giulia’s links:

Website – www.giuliaskye.com

Facebook - www.facebook.com/GiuliaSkyeRomance

BookBub - www.bookbub.com/authors/giulia-skye

 


e x

Sunday, 24 July 2022

A Brutal Season by Judi Daykin


A Brutal Season
by
Judi Daykin

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Detective Sara Hirst has moved from London to Norfolk Police’s Serious Crimes Unit.

Carnival week in Cromer. It’s been an easy-going summer for the Norfolk Police’s Serious Crimes Unit — until this morning.

The body of Daisy Shaw, the Carnival Queen, is discovered in a back alley, stretched out on the cobbles. Her long blonde hair lies matted and dishevelled around her head, her fingers clutch a sparkly plastic tiara.

Suspicion falls on the carnival crew, especially when it turns out that one of them is Daisy’s boyfriend.

The atmosphere in Cromer soon grows nasty. The town turns against the outsiders. The roads are closed. The town descends into chaos. And the murder detectives are right in the thick of it, trying to piece together what happened to Daisy.

The close-knit carnival community is all too used to prejudice and none too keen on helping the police.

Meanwhile, both Sara’s mother and boyfriend have bombshells to drop. Can Sara solve the case before anyone else gets hurt?

This gripping, character-driven crime thriller is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, J.M. Dalgliesh, Matt Brolly, Rachel McLean, Rachel Lynch and Angela Marsons.

JUDI DAYKIN WAS LONGLISTED FOR THE CWA JOHN CREASEY NEW BLOOD DAGGER 2021!

Pages:  341
Genre:  Women's Action & Adventure Fiction

  
A Brutal Season was read and evaluated by THREE Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?