Chill with a Book Awards for Independent Authors

Wednesday, 28 November 2018

PREMIER Award - The Du Lac Prophecy by Mary Anne Yarde


The Du Lac Prophecy

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


The Premier Readers’ Awards are honoured to books that receive exceptional high praise from Chill Readers.


Two Prophesies. Two Noble Households. One Throne.
Distrust and greed threaten to destroy the House of du Lac. Mordred Pendragon strengthens his hold on Brittany and the surrounding kingdoms while Alan, Mordred’s cousin, embarks on a desperate quest to find Arthur’s lost knights. Without the knights and the relics they hold in trust, they cannot defeat Arthur’s only son – but finding the knights is only half of the battle. Convincing them to fight on the side of the Du Lac’s, their sworn enemy, will not be easy.


If Alden, King of Cerniw, cannot bring unity there will be no need for Arthur’s knights. With Budic threatening to invade Alden’s Kingdom, Merton putting love before duty, and Garren disappearing to goodness knows where, what hope does Alden have? If Alden cannot get his House in order, Mordred will destroy them all.


"The Du Lac Prophecy is a future classic, with an ending I'm sure even George R. R. Martin would be proud of." ~ Amazon Reviewer.

The Du Lac Prophecy has a recommended reading age of 16+.

Genre:  Medieval
Approx pages:  368


The Du Lac Prophecy was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?







The Du Lac Prophecy
has also recieved








Cover of the MONTH November - The Du Lac Prophecy by Mary Anne Yarde



Book Cover of the Month

November

The Du Lac Prophecy






HUGE thanks to  Designer, Cathy Helms from Avalon Graphics for selecting this month's cover of the Month.





The Du Lac Prophecy is automatically put forward for Cover of the Year 2018.



All books receiving a Chill with a Readers' Award in December will automatically be considered for Book Cover of the Month – December.





Sunday, 25 November 2018

That Summer at the Seahorse Hotel by Adrienne Vaughan


That Summer at the Seahorse Hotel
has RECEIVED a


Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Mia Flanagan has never been told who her father is and aged ten, stopped asking. 

Haunted by this, she remains a dutiful daughter who would never do anything to bring scandal or shame on her beautiful and famously single mother. 

So when Archie Fitzgerald, one of Hollywood’s favourite actors, decides to leave Mia his Irish estate, she asks herself - is he her father after all? 


That Summer at the Seahorse Hotel is a tale of passion, jealousy and betrayal – and the ghost of a secret love that binds this colourful cast yet still threatens, after all these years, to tear each of them apart.

Genre:  Women's Fiction
Approx pages:  430


That Summer at the Seahorse Hotel was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?








Betrayal by Michele F Kallio


Betrayal
has RECEIVED a


Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Betrayal is the story of two women separated by thousands of miles and nearly five centuries, told in alternating chapters.
Although born in Devon, England, modern day LYDIA HAMILTON has lived her whole life in Canada. She seems to be living the perfect life living and working with her physician boyfriend, DAN TAYLOR, that is, until she begins to have a recurring nightmare of people and places she does not know- that haunts even her waking hours. Lydia resists Dan’s urging that she see ALAN STOKES, a psychology professor at a local university for hypnosis. She tries to ignore her dreams as long as she can. But in desperation she allows Alan to begin hypnotherapy in hopes of understanding why she continues to have the dream. When a Christmas parcel arrives from her mother’s family in England, Lydia finds an old diary in the box and she quickly realizes that the woman, ELISABETH BEETON, she is dreaming about really existed and that there is more to her nightmares than just dreams. She must find out how this woman diary came to be at Morely’s Cross and why she haunts Lydia’s dreams. She flies to Devon, England. While in England she begins to unravel her parent’s estrangement and learns that she is to inherit her mother’s ancestral home. Dan refuses to accompany Lydia to England, but Alan is convinced there is a truth that must be uncovered. Lydia and Alan search the house at Morely’s Cross finding a packet of letters of accusation against Anne Boleyn. While involved in their search for Elisabeth, Alan and Lydia realized they have strong feelings for each other. When Dan finally arrives in England it is to bring Lydia home and stop all the nonsense. But he is too late, Lydia and Alan have already declared their feeling for each other.

ELISABETH BEETON, a lady’s maid to Anne Boleyn falls in love with GEORGE BOLEYN, Anne’s brother who is trapped in a barren and loveless marriage. George seeks to have his marriage to JANE BOLEYN set aside when Elisabeth becomes pregnant in 1534. Anne refuses and Elisabeth is sent to Staffordshire where she gives birth to a son. Jane is also away from Court having been exiled because of an argument with the King, HENRY VIII, when she returns to Court in the summer of 1535 she learns of their affair and realizes she has been made a fool of, but she decides her place at Court is too important to lose over such a minor matter. In 1536 Elisabeth finds herself pregnant again. When George goes to Anne, she begs him wait until her son is born, but Anne miscarries in late January. George realizes his suit is hopeless now and urges Elisabeth to fulfill a marriage contract her grandfather had arranged with ANDREW TREMAYNE, to protect her and his child. Reluctantly Elisabeth agrees and she marries Andrew immediately in an effort to convince him that the child she is carrying is his. But after witnessing Elisabeth and George in a lover’s embrace, Andrew realizes he has been cuckolded and seeks his revenge by going to THOMAS CROMWELL, the King’s Chancellor. Henry has become eager to escape his marriage to Anne believing it to be cursed by God and he pressures Cromwell to find a way out. Andrew promises Cromwell a letter from Elisabeth listing the Queen’s infidelities with names, dates and places. Meanwhile Cromwell has contacted Jane Boleyn to tell her about the child born in Staffordshire. Angry Jane seeks her revenge by agreeing to write the letter Cromwell wants. Andrew produces his letter and it is decided that Elisabeth must be kept incommunicado so that she cannot deny the letter. She is arrested and taken to the Tower in April 1536. After the trials and executions of Anne and George, she is released unaware of the part her husband played in their demise. Years later Andrew will reveal this in a fit of anger.


Genre:  Historical
Approx pages:  452


Betrayal was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?







Betrayal
has also received a





The Victoria Lie by Sarah Marie Graye


The Victoria Lie
has RECEIVED a


Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


WHEN IS A LIE A LIFELINE?
...To Tori lies are everything.

ZOE wants to end her life. But she can’t just leave a note. She needs to say goodbye to boyfriend JAMES and best friend ALISON.

TORI is waiting in the wings to fill the space ZOE will leave behind, wanting to claim both James and Alison for herself.

But with ZOE still alive and Alison's childhood friend RUBY now on the scene vying to fill the gap, TORI realises she has her work cut out.

Just what lengths is TORI willing to go to in order to claim Alison and James for herself?

And what does any of this have to do with BETH and FAYE?

The Victoria Lie is perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman, Maggie O'Farrell, Patrick Gale and Elizabeth Strout.

Note from the publisher: The Victoria Lie (The Butterfly Effect Book 2) is a standalone story and can be read without reading The Second Cup (The Butterfly Effect Book 1) first.


Genre:  Death & Grief
Approx pages:  302


The Victoria Lie was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?