Chill with a Book Awards for Independent Authors

Monday, 30 September 2019

Cover of the Month - September



Book Cover of the Month

September

The Voss Coin


HUGE thanks to  Designer, Cathy Helms at Avalon Graphics for selecting this month's cover of the Month.




The Voss Coin
is automatically put forward for Cover of the Year 2019.



All books receiving a Chill with a Readers' Award in October will automatically be considered for Book Cover of the Month – October.





Friday, 27 September 2019

Vince by Peter Lane


Vince

has RECEIVED a


Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Vince Viggors, 14 years old, string of convictions, two ASBOs, bottom set for everything in school, father in prison, mother on the game. So why does MI5 think he might be their last chance to uncover a conspiracy that could leave millions dead worldwide and what has it got to do with the Holocaust and the Israeli state?. Vince, was he born bad or did he just grow up that way?


Genre:  Action & Adventure
Approx pages: 247

 Vince was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?





Amazon co uk



Thursday, 26 September 2019

The Voss Coin by A.B. Alexander


The Voss Coin

has RECEIVED a


Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


Loving husband, father to twin boys, successful tech executive...target for revenge.

Three years ago, Kevin Voss boarded a flight to Tokyo...and he would come back a different man.

He is kidnapped and blackmailed through a string of bizarre sexual encounters—all part of a meticulous plan.

He receives a very specific set of instructions.

TO CREATE THE VOSS COIN.

All the details were there...except one.

This technology in the wrong hands would be equivalent to a financial atomic bomb. Millions, if not billions of people, would feel the ripple effect and he would be the perfect scapegoat.

Facing an enemy of the worst kind, Kevin clings to survival through a mind-altering journey of sex, greed, power, and self-discovery. The chickens weren't coming home to roost; they were going to roost everywhere.


Genre:  Psychological fiction
Approx pages: 354

 The Voss Coin was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?





Amazon co uk



Thursday, 19 September 2019

Scared To Breathe by Kerena Swan


Scared To Breathe

has RECEIVED a


Chill with a Book READERS’ Award


When Tasha witnesses a stabbing at the train station in Luton, she is compelled to give evidence in court that leads to Dean Rigby being convicted. But when Lewis, Dean’s brother, vows revenge, Tasha is afraid and no longer feels safe in her own home.

Tasha’s partner, Reuben, hopes to marry her and start a family soon. But Reuben is concerned about Tasha’s state of mind and urges her to see a doctor

When Tasha is left a derelict country house by her birth father, she sees an opportunity to escape Luton and start a new life. After visiting Black Hollow Hall she sees it as the perfect opportunity to live a life without fear.

At first Tasha feels liberated from her troubles. The gardener, William, who is partially paralysed but employed to maintain the grounds of Black Hollow Hall, is welcoming.

But soon Tasha realises the Hall is not quite the idyll she imagined.

When she discovers that a woman jumped to her death there years ago following the murder of her husband, strange events begin to take place and Tasha fears for her safety.

Have the Rigby family found her?

Is someone trying to scare her into selling the house?

Or is she suffering from paranoia as Reuben suggests?

As Tasha’s sanity is put under pressure she begins to wonder if Black Hollow Hall is going to be her salvation or her undoing…


Kerena Swan is also the author of the unmissable psychological thriller Dying to See You. Scared to Breathe is a compelling thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Clare Mackintosh, Cara Hunter and Shalini Boland.


Genre:  Psychological fiction
Approx pages: 328

 Scared to Breathe was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?





Amazon co uk



Wednesday, 18 September 2019

Thalidomide Kid by Kate Rigby


Thalidomide Kid

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

Daryl Wainwright is the quirky youngest child of a large family of petty thieves and criminals who calls himself ‘Thalidomide Kid’.

Celia Burkett is the new girl at the local primary school, and the daughter of the deputy head at the local comprehensive where she is bound the following September. With few friends, Celia soon becomes fascinated by ‘the boy with no arms’.

The story is about the blossoming romance and sexual awakening between a lonely girl and a disabled boy, and their struggle against adversity and prejudice as they pass from primary to secondary school in 1970s Cirencester. The story deals with themes and issues that are timeless.

Genre:  Fiction about Bullies for Children
Approx pages:  287


Thalidomide Kid was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?