Chill with a Book Awards for Independent Authors

Tuesday, 31 March 2020

Book of the MONTH - March



Book of the Month Award
for
March




Eagerly-awaited conclusion to Katharina Deliverance - Runner-up in the Historical Novel Society New Novel Award 2018.

"Behind even a great (sometimes, noisy, fractious) man, there is often a quietly strong, more amenable woman.
Margaret Skea's deep research and empathy brings alive one of those. If you like your historical fiction truthful and complex, then this novel about Katharina Luther is for you.” Sarah Dunant

'Beautifully written and meticulously researched - historical fiction at its best.' BooksPlease
Fans of Sarah Dunant, Hilary Mantel, C J Sansom and Winston Graham will love this book.

‘We are none of us perfect, and a streak of stubbornness is what is needed in dealing with a household such as yours, Kat… and with Martin.’

Wittenberg 1525. The unexpected marriage of Martin Luther to Katharina von Bora has no fairytale ending.

A sign of apostasy to their enemies, and a source of consternation to their friends, it sends shock waves throughout Europe.

Yet, as they face persecution, poverty, war, plague and family tragedy, Katharina’s resilience and strength of character shines through.

While this book can be read as a standalone, it is also the powerful conclusion to her story, begun in Katharina: Deliverance.

Authentic, immersive and packed with drama.

Genre: Historical Fiction
Pages: 466






Cover of the Month - March



Book Cover of the Month

March





HUGE thanks to  Designer, Cathy Helms at Avalon Graphics for selecting this month's cover of the Month.



Cottage in a Cornish Cove
is automatically put forward for Cover of the Year 2020





All books receiving a Chill with a Readers' Award in April will automatically be considered for Book Cover of the Month – April.






Wednesday, 11 March 2020

The Cottage in a Cornish Cove by Cass Grafton


The Cottage in a Cornish Cove by Cass Grafton

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award




A heart-warming tale of discovering all you never wanted is exactly what you need.

Orphaned as a baby and raised by uncaring relatives, much of Anna Redding’s happiness as a child came from the long summer holidays spent with an elderly family friend, Aunt Meg, in the coastal village of Polkerran.

With Aunt Meg’s passing, Anna is drawn back to the West Country, relocating to the Cornish cove where she was once so happy. Filled with memories, she hopes to perhaps open a B&B—and perhaps cross paths with Alex Tremayne again, a local boy she used to have a major crush on and who only had to walk past Anna to make her heart flutter.

Settling into her new life, and enjoying her work for the older, reclusive and—to be honest—often exasperating Oliver Seymour, Anna is delighted when Alex reappears in Polkerran and sweeps her off her feet.

The stars finally seem to be aligned, but just as Anna thinks all she’s ever wished for is within reach, a shock discovery brings everything under threat, and she discovers she’s living a dream that isn’t hers.

Can Anna rescue the new life she has made for herself and, when the testing moment comes, will anyone be there to hold her hand?

The Cottage in a Cornish Cove is the first in a series of uplifting romances from Cass Grafton. Get to know the warm and funny locals of Polkerran, wallow in the charm of a Cornish fishing village and fall in love with romance all over again.

Genre: 247

Pages: Contemporary Romance

 The Cottage in a Cornish Cove by Cass Grafton was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?




Amazon co uk



Monday, 9 March 2020

Katharina Fortitude by Margaret Skea


Katharina Fortitude

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.


Eagerly-awaited conclusion to Katharina Deliverance - Runner-up in the Historical Novel Society New Novel Award 2018.

"Behind even a great (sometimes, noisy, fractious) man, there is often a quietly strong, more amenable woman.
Margaret Skea's deep research and empathy brings alive one of those. If you like your historical fiction truthful and complex, then this novel about Katharina Luther is for you.” Sarah Dunant

'Beautifully written and meticulously researched - historical fiction at its best.' BooksPlease
Fans of Sarah Dunant, Hilary Mantel, C J Sansom and Winston Graham will love this book.

‘We are none of us perfect, and a streak of stubbornness is what is needed in dealing with a household such as yours, Kat… and with Martin.’

Wittenberg 1525. The unexpected marriage of Martin Luther to Katharina von Bora has no fairytale ending.

A sign of apostasy to their enemies, and a source of consternation to their friends, it sends shock waves throughout Europe.

Yet, as they face persecution, poverty, war, plague and family tragedy, Katharina’s resilience and strength of character shines through.

While this book can be read as a standalone, it is also the powerful conclusion to her story, begun in Katharina: Deliverance.

Authentic, immersive and packed with drama.

Genre: Historical Fiction

Pages: 466


Katharina Fortitude was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?






Thursday, 5 March 2020

At home in the Pays d'Oc by Patricia Feinberg Stoner


At home in the Pays d'Oc

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award



This is the story of how a small brown and white spaniel turned the lives of two English holidaymakers upside down.
Patricia and her husband Patrick are spending the summer in their holiday home in the Languedoc village of Morbignan la Crèbe. One hot Friday afternoon Patrick walks in with the little dog, thinking she is a stray.


They have no intention of keeping her. ‘Just for tonight,’ says Patrick. ‘We will take her to the animal shelter tomorrow.’ It never happens. They spend the weekend getting to know and love the little creature, who looks at them appealingly with big brown eyes, and wags her absurd stump of a tail every time they speak to her.


On the Monday her owner turns up, alerted by the Mairie. They could have handed her over. Instead Patricia finds herself saying: ‘We like your dog, Monsieur. May we keep her?’


It is the start of what will be four years as Morbignanglais, as they settle into life as permanent residents of the village. “At Home in the Pays d’Oc” is about their lives in Morbignan, the neighbours who soon become friends, the parties and the vendanges and the battles with French bureaucracy.
It is the story of some of their bizarre and sometimes hilarious encounters: the Velcro bird, the builder in carpet slippers, the neighbour who cuts the phone wires, the clock that clacks, the elusive carpenter who really did have to go to a funeral.


Genre:
Pages: 211


 At home in the Pays d'Oc was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?



Amazon co uk