Chill with a Book Awards for Independent Authors

Wednesday, 29 July 2020

The Sewing Place by Joslin Day


The Sewing Place

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award



Innocence is a precious possession, but as mid-eighteenth-century Exeter settles to peace after The Seven Years’ War, Rachael, who is neither servant nor ward of the flamboyant painter Alexander Trelawney, is destined to lose the one thing that separates her from the whores she rubs shoulders with.

A friendship begun on the derelict outshoot of one of the three houses that share a courtyard along busy Exebere Street is put under threat; not only by Trelawney’s unorthodox lifestyle but by Henri Latimer’s spendthrift and conscienceless nephew Geoffrey, who is determined to have the inheritance that his posthumous birth has deprived him of. Even if this means consulting with the herbalist Blox.

Will Rachael find salvation in the widower Henri Latimer or will she fall to the bottom of society where her illegitimate birth and lack of family predicts she must? Will Geoffrey achieve what Latimer’s recent injury and subsequent illness could not?


The Sewing Place was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?




Amazon co uk



Monday, 27 July 2020

The Dark Horizon by Liz Harris


The Dark Horizon

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award




From the award-winning author of The Road Back comes the first in a sweeping saga set between the wars, which introduces the Linfords, a family simmering with secrets, schemes and lies.

Oxfordshire, 1919. The instant that Lily Brown and Robert Linford set eyes on each other, they fall in love. The instant that Robert’s father, Joseph, head of the family’s successful building company, set eyes on Lily, he feels a deep distrust of her.

Convinced that his new daughter-in-law is a gold-digger, and that Robert’s feelings are a youthful infatuation he’d come to regret, Joseph resolves to do whatever it takes to rid his family of Lily. And he doesn’t care what that is.

As Robert and Lily are torn apart, the Linford family is told a lie that will have devastating consequences for years to come.

The Dark Horizon is perfect for readers of The Thorn Birds and the Cazalet Chronicles, and the novels of Fiona Valpy and Santa Montefiore.


The Dark Horizon was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?




Amazon co uk



Saturday, 25 July 2020

The Rock Pool by Michael Reidy


The Rock Pool

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

This book is shortlisted for Book of the Month.

The power of place can be very strong, and when combined with the experience of love, it can be an enduring and potent mix. For Nick Lucas, it lasted a lifetime. Beginning with an encounter on Fulmar Beach, Massachusetts, Nick's love for the unattainable Sarah Hallam becomes the unwelcome center of his life.Seeking explanations and closure, Nick re-examines his relationships, and revisits the beach that has haunted him since childhood.

Genre: Romance Literary Fiction
Pages: 435


The Rock Pool was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?






Monday, 20 July 2020

An Incidental Lovestyle by Kiltie Jackson


An Incidental Lovestyle

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

This book is shortlisted for Book of the Month.


t only takes one small incident to change your life…

Jenny Marshall is your stereotypical, middle-aged, spinster. She works in a library, has two cats and likes cake. She has her dreams but not the courage to chase them.

Jeff Rowland fell in love at first sight with Jenny four years ago but hasn’t seen her since. When they bump into each other again, he realises his feelings haven’t changed.

When Jenny’s car breaks down on a cold winter’s day, it sets off a chain of events which brings them together in a way neither could ever have imagined. Both, however, have dark secrets in their past which begin to seep into their present.

Will these secrets bring them closer together?

Or will they shatter their relationship beyond repair?

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 394


An Incidental Lovestyle was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?