Chill with a Book Awards for Independent Authors

Friday, 29 May 2020

Book of the MONTH - May

Book of the Month Award

May





11th century, Northern Spain. Isabella has been a nun in the Christian kingdom of Galicia since she was a child, a gifted herbalist leading a quiet and spiritual life, devoted to God. But on a rare journey outside of the convent, she is taken by Viking raiders and sold to Morocco as a slave. Cruelly treated by her first owner, salvation comes from an unlikely source: Yusuf bin Tashfin, leader of a vast Muslim army intent on conquering all of North Africa. Isabella must struggle not only to survive her new life but to hold true to her faith, which is tested by great dangers… and by love.

If you loved The Physician by Noah Gordon and enjoy books by Jane Johnson, Anita Diamant and Libbie Hawker, then the Moroccan Empire series is for you. Based on the rise of the Almoravid dynasty, which conquered the whole of North Africa and most of Spain (defeating El Cid), the series explores why a Muslim warlord would give his empire to the son of a Christian slave girl. This is historical fiction at its most dramatic, emotional and intriguing.

Genre:

Pages: 298







Book Cover of the MONTH - May



Book Cover of the Month

May





HUGE thanks to  Designer, Cathy Helms at Avalon Graphics for selecting this month's cover of the Month.



Do Not Awaken Love
is automatically put forward for Cover of the Year 2020





All books receiving a Chill with a Readers' Award in June will automatically be considered for Book Cover of the Month – June.






Tuesday, 19 May 2020

The God Jar by Phill Featherstone


The God Jar

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award



Cornwall. Last year. Amy and Jack are on the final day of their honeymoon and enjoying a last scuba dive when Amy sees an object on the sea bed. She tries to get it, but in doing so her foot becomes trapped in old fishing line. Jack is unable to free her and goes for help. Meanwhile Amy’s air tank runs out…

So begins an intriguing tale of mystery and adventure which spans the centuries. The object Amy found once belonged to the Elizabethan mystic John Dee, who used it at the Queen’s behest to avert a national catastrophe. As Amy and Jack investigate it they become aware of its strange properties and the forces it can exert on the unwary.

The action switches between the present day and Tudor England in this tense thriller which will appeal both to fans of historical novels and to readers of Dan Brown and Tom Harper.


Genre: Action Thriller

Pages: 372

 The God Jar was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?




Amazon co uk



Wednesday, 13 May 2020

Do Not Awaken Love by Melissa Addey


Do Not Awaken Love

has RECEIVED a


A PREMIER Readers’ Award


Premier Readers’ Award is honoured to books that receive exceptional high evaluations from Chill Readers.

This book is shortlisted for Book of the Month.

11th century, Northern Spain. Isabella has been a nun in the Christian kingdom of Galicia since she was a child, a gifted herbalist leading a quiet and spiritual life, devoted to God. But on a rare journey outside of the convent, she is taken by Viking raiders and sold to Morocco as a slave. Cruelly treated by her first owner, salvation comes from an unlikely source: Yusuf bin Tashfin, leader of a vast Muslim army intent on conquering all of North Africa. Isabella must struggle not only to survive her new life but to hold true to her faith, which is tested by great dangers… and by love.

If you loved The Physician by Noah Gordon and enjoy books by Jane Johnson, Anita Diamant and Libbie Hawker, then the Moroccan Empire series is for you. Based on the rise of the Almoravid dynasty, which conquered the whole of North Africa and most of Spain (defeating El Cid), the series explores why a Muslim warlord would give his empire to the son of a Christian slave girl. This is historical fiction at its most dramatic, emotional and intriguing.

Genre:

Pages: 298



Do Not Awaken Love was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?






Monday, 11 May 2020

Christmas for Commitmentphobes by Rhoda Baxter


Christmas for Commitmentphobes

has RECEIVED a

Chill with a Book READERS’ Award




At Christmas time, the last thing you need is more commitments.
Lara is so busy trying to get her fledgling software company off the ground that she’s up in Yorkshire, pitching for business, just before Christmas. When bad weather sees the trains cancelled, the only place she can find shelter is a small pub called the Trewton Arms.

Thilini (‘Tilly’) loves that her art helps feed her travel addiction. She’s back in England for Christmas after two years away and can’t wait to be on the move again.

When they meet their attraction is hard to deny. But what happens when the trains are running again and they have to go their separate ways?

Christmas for Commitmentphobes is a standalone novella in the Trewton Royd small town romance series. If you like closed door romances, with feisty heroines and realistic dialogue, you’ll love Christmas for Commitmentphobes. Ideal for fans of Lucy Parker or Jackie Lau.

Genre:

Pages: 101


 Christmas for Commitmentphobes was read and evaluated by Chill's readers against the following...

Were the characters strong and engaging?
 Was the book well written?
Did the story / plot have you turning the page to find out what happened next?
Was the ending satisfying?
Would you recommend to someone who reads this kind of story?




Amazon co uk